Bangor Drama Club Est. 1935

Bangor Drama Club began in 1935 when a group of people with a passion for theatre starting reading plays together. The Club put on its first production in 1938 and hasn't looked back since!

The Clubhouse (a former builder's yard and Home Guard station during the war) was acquired in 1947 and plays were then performed in a number of venues but mostly in "The Little Theatre" across the road.

In 1993, when The Little Theatre closed, the Clubhouse was converted into the Studio Theatre nestled off central avenue in the heart of Bangor.

Studio 1A

In its 80th year, the Club moved to its current home, Studio 1A, on Hamilton Road (formerly the Good Templar Hall). After plenty of planning, fundraisers and elbow grease, Studio 1A opened in early 2017 and has hosted countless successful productions already - with many more to come!

The Club puts on at least three productions a year and offers a range of Summer theatre productions by visiting companies in July and August. There are also regular play readings twice a month from September - June annually. ​​


Please enjoy a selection of Bangor Drama Club performances, ranging from full length Shakespeare performed on Zoom to clips of old stage performances. ​​